MFO park

Whilst riding around Zurich with my Wallpaper city guide on me screen I headed out to award winning MFO park by Burckhardt+Partner and Raderschall.  Now I may be in the minority here but I didn’t actually know about this park before I started looking a bit deeper into Zurich’s architectural fabric.  Once I found my way out there, well and truly off the tourist path, I felt my efforts were instantly rewarded.  I arrived at lunch time and the office set from the surrounding buildings were making the most of a sunny day in their unique green oasis.

Set amongst new office buildings in an old industrial area MFO park is an public landscaped area which also uses vertical space, having a number of suspended platforms and walkways throughout enabling you to walk though the structure.  This means that in a smaller footprint it is easier to find your own space when you want it.  It is a three dimensional plaza replacing trees with steel structures covered with vegetation. Like an ancient ruin that acknowledges the industrial past of the area, the park reminds you of an abandoned industrial building covered by the growing vegetation.  The Structure is covered in 104 different Vine types which change colour and appearance and different times of year, helping the park stay vegetated all year and also providing those who use it regularly with a changing vista.

Here’s my visual take on the space.

This entry was published on August 15, 2012 at 6:43 am. It’s filed under Architecture, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “MFO park

  1. BigSis on said:

    I remember it from one of Mum’s Architecture or Landscape mags but didn’t realise where it was. Should be more of them, the design would be really easily transferable.

Leave a Reply

